Books in the library
Password required to use the online edition of this book.
Articles from Google News
Be sure to read this article about a recent plagiarism case at Rutgers.
Recent news headlines from the Internet about research papers.
Library catalog
Examine the catalog records for the sample books on the left to identify possible search terms and subject headings that you can use to search the catalog for additional resources. For high-quality web sites about your topic, click Advanced Search below and select WebPath Express.
| Find: | ||||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
| Advanced Search | ||||
Taking notes
- Word Note-Taking GridUse a Word table to cite, quote, analyze, and organize your source material.
- NoodleTools
Use the notecards feature. - EasyBib
NEW! Register for an account while in school so that you can access your citations from home. Use the Notebook feature.
Citation generators
Plagiarism demonstrates lack of integrity and character. It is inconsistent with the goals and values of NHHS. Review the NHHS policy on cheating and plagiarism to learn about strategies that will help you succeed with honor.
- NoodleTools
The most comprehensive and accurate MLA and APA bibliography composer on the web. Stop by the media center for the password. - How to create a citation in NoodleToolsScreencast in which Ms. Hickson demonstrates how to create a NoodleTools citation
- EasyBib
NEW! Register for an account while in school so that you can access your citations from home.
What am I citing?
When using database sources, your source material often appeared in a printed format before it was stored in the database. That original print format determines the type of citation you will create. To help identify the original source type of database material, use these tools developed by the NHHS Media Center:
Recipe Card: Shows the ingredients, order, and style of the citations for books, reference works, magazines, journals, and newspapers. Refer to the Recipe Card when you are having trouble interpreting the elements of a citation provided by a database.
Citation Detector: Helps you use the citation information provided by a database to predict the original form of publication (book, reference work, magazine, journal, or newspaper). Begin by finding the date of publication within the citation provided by the database. Determine whether the date format is year only; month (or season) and year; or month, day, and year. Then go to the appropriate starting point on the Citation Detector and answer the series of questions. Check your prediction by reviewing the descriptions of the sources on the second page of the Citation Detector. Pay special attention to the Red Herrings, especially when working with EBSCO databases (to identify the original source type in EBSCO, simply click on the Source name and check the Publication Type and Description).
In-text citations
Place a citation as close to the quoted or paraphrased material as possible without disrupting the sentence.
When material from one source and the same page numbers is used throughout a paragraph, use one citation at the end of the paragraph rather than a citation at the end of each sentence.
Parenthetical citations usually appear after the final quotation mark and before the period. An exception occurs, however, in quotes of four or more lines since these quotes are presented as block quotes, that is, they are indented and use no quotation marks. In such cases, the parenthetical citation goes after the period.
For help with in-text citations, visit these sites:
- In-Text Citation Basics
From the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University. - Citing books, articles, and other sources parenthetically in your paper
A good overview from the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. - MLA Parenthetical Documentation
General guidelines, including use of authors' names, placement of citations, and treatment of electronic sources. - NoodleTools Knowledge Base
Detailed Q&A about a variety of in-text citation situations.
Journal vs. magazine: What's the difference
Journals are often published by an academic or professional organization to advance knowledge in a particular discipline. Journals usually contain:
- Scholarly articles with abstracts and references (footnotes, in-text citations, bibliography)
- Scholarly vocabulary, including words and ideas that might be understood only by other experts on the topic
- Few photos, pictures, or ads
Magazines appeal to a general audience and usually:
- Do not include footnotes or references
- Include pictures, colorful design elements, decorative fonts, and ads
Citation help
- MLA Formatting & Style Guide
From the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University. - MLA 7 Reference Guide
From EasyBib. - Overview of MLA Citation Style
From the C.W. Post Campus of Long Island University. - Sample Works Cited Page Entries
From the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Database passwords
To access the databases from home, you will need a username and password. The password list is available online to those who have an NHHS login ID and password. Be sure to precede your login ID with your domain: nhhs\

Loading...





Loading...
